top of page
  • Katherine Grace

The God of All Comfort




There's not much that's more terrifying than being alone. And I don't mean simply being by oneself. (As much as I love spending time with my amazing family and my wonderful friends, I'm also an introvert who enjoys moments with my own thoughts as my only company.) By "alone" in this context, I mean the condition of being without God, and without anyone to fall back on.


People who don't know the goodness of Christ are truly alone in this sense. When we don't have an ultimate hope and comfort, we rely on all sorts of things for our sense of security; human relationships, material items, our own accomplishments, our identities... and so much more. Godless people search for something, for anything to fill the giant chasm in their hearts. For a while, it might seem like it's working, but eventually the relationships fail, the fame fades, the money is spent, and they're right back where they started.


Christians, too, were once stuck in this endless cycle of disappointment and loneliness. In fact, even those who have come to know the wonder of the One who never leaves or forsakes us still sometimes turn back to the old ways of worldly comforts and away from the open arms of our loving Savior. I know I do.


This world, as full of it is of shiny ideologies and blooming career paths and unfathomable technology and brilliant, beautiful people, is completely and utterly hopeless. On our own, we are stuck, consumed by our own lust and desires and greed. But our good and gracious God doesn't leave us there.


I've heard the gospel hundreds of times. It's engrained in my mind and has left fingerprints all over my heart. It's changed my life; in fact, it is my life. But it will never stop being beautiful and amazing to me. The gospel is my story, but I'm not the main character. God is.


God created people with purpose, in His image, infinitely valuable. But sin came into the world and we were corrupted, separated from the presence of a Holy God. Every single person, including you and me, is a sinner, and there is nothing we could ever do to redeem ourselves; we deserve death. But God sent His beloved Son, fully man and fully God, into the world, to live among us, to experience temptation and pain and grief just like we do, and yet never sin.


And Jesus, the perfect Spotless Lamb, died an unimaginable death on a cross, taking upon Himself the punishment we deserved. But He didn't stay dead. He rose again from the grave and ascended into heaven, highly exalted. The Bible tells us that we can be saved from the punishment we deserve by acknowledging our sin and helplessness, and fully trusting in Christ's sacrifice. (Ephesians 2:4-8)


Therefore, we have hope.


The world in which we live grows darker by the day. Take one look at the news and you'll see just how screwed up people are. But this beautiful, perfect gospel, is our light, our song, our strength. Look for shelter anywhere else and you'll find emptiness. But give your soul to God, and He will never forsake you. Cling to His promises, and let Him be your anchor in the storm. Trusting God is hard. It means making sacrifices, and being different from the rest of the world. I am far from perfect at it. With the man in Mark 9:23-29, I plead to Jesus, "I believe, help my unbelief."


While God promises us comfort, peace, and help, He doesn't offer us a tribulation-free life. In fact, Jesus guarantees that following Him means suffering and trials. But, He says, "Be courageous! I have conquered the world." (John 16:33). We've got some pretty heavy burdens to bear. But on the other side of the yoke is the God of all comfort, always with us. (2 Corinthians 1:3).


Those who have Christ are never truly alone. We don't need to fear the "terror of the night." (Psalm 91: 5) And those who don't yet know this hope are invited to come to Christ.


"I will arise and go to Jesus. He will embrace me in His arms. In the arms of my dear Savior, oh, there are ten thousand charms." (Come Ye Sinners, Poor and Needy)


~


Perhaps this article was a little all over the place. (That's a bit how my mind feels right now, to be honest ;) But I pray that your hearts will be encouraged even as the world darkens. God is truly so good, and I've only seen a glimpse of His greatness. Let's keep seeking him together. <3






bottom of page